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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

Currently, the Florida Department of Health (DOH) is authorized to discipline a health care practitioner’s 
license for failing to repay a government-backed student loan. Every month, DOH must obtain a list of Florida 
licensed health care practitioners who have defaulted on their government-backed student loans from the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services (USHHS). Upon learning that a health care 
practitioner has defaulted on such a loan, DOH must notify the practitioner that he or she has 45 days to 
provide DOH with proof of a new repayment plan, or DOH will issue an emergency order suspending the 
practitioner’s license.  
 
If DOH finds that a health care practitioner has defaulted on such a loan, DOH, at a minimum, must take the 
following disciplinary action:  

 Suspend the practitioner’s license until he or she agrees to new payment terms; 

 Place the licensee on probation for the duration of the student loan period; and 

 Impose a fine equal to 10 percent of the defaulted loan amount. 
 
 
The bill: 

 Prohibits any state authority, including DOH, from denying the issuance of, suspending, or revoking a 
professional license based solely on the licensee being delinquent on a payment of or defaulting on his 
or her student loans; 

 Removes the specific provision allowing DOH to discipline a health care practitioner for failing to repay 
a student loan and the associated mandatory discipline;  

 Repeals the requirement that DOH must issue an emergency order suspending a health care 
practitioner’s license for a student loan default, absent timely proof of a new repayment plan; and 

 Repeals the requirement that DOH must obtain a monthly list from the USHHS of the health care 
practitioners who have defaulted on their student loans. 

 
The bill has an indeterminate fiscal impact on state government. The bill is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on local governments. 
 
The bill provides for an effective date of July 1, 2020.  
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation 
 
Student Loans 
 
Student loans are funds that are lent to students or parents to pay for higher education. Student loans 
may come from private sources, such as banks or other financial institutions, or from a state or the 
federal government.1  
 
The Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA) within the Florida Department of Education (DOE) is 
responsible for administering state and federally funded programs and serves as the guarantor agency 
for certain federally-backed student loans.2 The DOE is directed to exert every lawful and reasonable 
effort to collect all delinquent unpaid and uncanceled student loans.3 

 
 Increase in Defaults on Student Loans 
 

An estimated 41.5 million Americans owe more than $1.2 trillion in outstanding federal loan debt. This 
is more than triple the $340 billion in student loan debt owed by Americans in 2001.4 With this increase 
in student loan debt owed by Americans, there has been an increase in the number of people who are 
defaulting on or failing to pay their student loans. For most federal loans, default generally occurs when 
a payment has not been made for 270 days.5 In 2018, 41,013 borrowers who attended Florida schools 
had defaulted on their federal student loans used to attend institutions ranging from universities to trade 
schools.6  

 
Professional Licenses 
 
An occupational or professional license is a form of regulation that requires individuals who want to 
perform certain types of work, such as contracting and cosmetology, to obtain permission from the 
government.7 Generally, an individual obtains such permission and is granted a license by 
demonstrating that they have the designated knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform the work by 
meeting pre-determined criteria established by the government, such as successfully completing 
certain education and exams.8 
 
Approximately one-quarter of workers nationwide require a license to practice their profession, and an 
estimated 28.7 percent of the Florida workforce requires a license from the state.9  

                                                 
1 Consumer Financal Protection Bureau, Student Loans: Choosing a loan that’s right for you, 

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/paying-for-college/choose-a-student-loan/#o1 (last visited Dec. 4, 2019). 
2 Office of Student Financial Assistance, Mission Statement,  

http://www.floridastudentfinancialaid.org/FFELP/mission_statement/mission_statement_052606.html (last visited on Nov. 26, 2019). 
3 S. 1009.95, F.S. 
4 Laura Feiveson, Alvaro Mezza, and Kamila Sommer, Student Loan Debt and Aggregate Consumption Growth, Board of Governors 

of the Federal Reserve System, (February 21, 2018), https://www.federalreserve.gov/econres/notes/feds-notes/student-loan-debt-and-

aggregate-consumption-growth-20180221.htm (last visited on Nov. 26, 2019). 
5 United States Department of Education, Federal Student Aid, Glossary, Default, https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/glossary#letter_d (last 

visited Nov. 26, 2019). 
6 Florida Business Daily, 41,013 borrowers in default on student loans after attending Florida schools, May 17, 2018, 

https://flbusinessdaily.com/stories/511416784-41-013-borrowers-in-default-on-student-loans-after-attending-florida-schools (last 

visited Nov. 26, 2019). 
7 The White House, Occupational Licensing: A Framework for Policymakers, 6 (July 2015) 

https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/sites/default/files/docs/licensing_report_final_nonembargo.pdf (last visited on Nov. 26, 2019). 
8 Bureau of Labor Statistics, Frequently asked questions about data on certifications and licenses, 

https://www.bls.gov/cps/certifications-and-licenses-faqs.htm, (last visited on Nov. 26, 2019). 
9 White House, supra note 7 at 3. 

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/paying-for-college/choose-a-student-loan/#o1
http://www.floridastudentfinancialaid.org/FFELP/mission_statement/mission_statement_052606.html
https://www.federalreserve.gov/econres/notes/feds-notes/student-loan-debt-and-aggregate-consumption-growth-20180221.htm
https://www.federalreserve.gov/econres/notes/feds-notes/student-loan-debt-and-aggregate-consumption-growth-20180221.htm
https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/glossary#letter_d
https://flbusinessdaily.com/stories/511416784-41-013-borrowers-in-default-on-student-loans-after-attending-florida-schools
https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/sites/default/files/docs/licensing_report_final_nonembargo.pdf
https://www.bls.gov/cps/certifications-and-licenses-faqs.htm
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Disciplining Professional Licenses for Defaulting on Student Loans 
 
In the 1990s, as a result of a rising number of students defaulting on their federally-backed student 
loans, the federal government urged state legislators to send a message to students, postsecondary 
institutions, and lenders that high levels of default would not be tolerated. The federal government 
recommended that states take the following steps to curb student loan default:10 

 Enact a state tax-refund offset program; 

 Enact a wage garnishment program; 

 Deny professional licenses to defaulters until they take steps towards repayment; 

 Screen potential applicants for state jobs to prevent the hiring of loan defaulters who have not 
entered into repayment agreements; and 

 Ensure that information available to state agencies such as the Department of Motor Vehicles, 
the tax department, and the unemployment commission is available to the state’s guarantee 
agency.  

 
As a result, many states, including Florida, began adopting various forms of disciplinary licensing laws 
for defaulting on government-backed student loans. By 2010, about half of the states had some form of 
disciplinary licensing laws for defaulting on government-backed student loans. Since then, based on 
shifting concerns, there has been a trend to reduce or eliminate such laws. Currently, approximately 15 
states, including Florida, still have some form of such laws.11  
 
Proponents of such disciplinary licensing laws argue that: 

 The threat of losing a professional license is powerful tool to ensure borrowers stay current on 
their student loans, and as a result, these laws reduce the number borrowers who default; 

 It is in the taxpayers’ interest to ensure borrowers are repaying their government-backed 
student loans because the state or federal government foots the bill if borrowers default; and 

 Disciplinary licensing laws do not require people who have defaulted on their student loans to 
repay their loans to prevent their licenses from being suspended, only that they enter into a new 
repayment plan.12 

 
Opponents of such disciplinary licensing laws argue that states are using their licensing authority as a 
punitive debt collection tool. Opponents also argue that the purpose of licensing laws is to protect the 
health and safety of the public, not to operate as defacto debt collectors.13 
 
Federal Attempts to Prohibit State Disciplinary Licensing Laws 
 
Recently, there have been attempts at the national level to prohibit state disciplinary licensing laws for 
defaulting on government-backed student loans. Bills were introduced in the United States Congress in 
2018 and 2019 that would prohibit states from disciplining or denying state issued licenses for 
defaulting on government-backed student loans.14  
 
DOH Disciplinary Licensing Laws 

 
In 2002, Florida passed a law allowing the Florida Department of Health (DOH) to discipline a health 
care practitioner’s license for defaulting on a government-backed student loan. The law was founded on 
the United States Department of Health and Human Services (USHHS) report that there were 9,454 

                                                 
10 Mary Farrell, Reducing Student Loan Defaults: A Plan for Action, Department of Education at 63 (March 21, 1991) 

https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED323879.pdf (last visited Nov. 26, 2019). 
11 Andrew Wagner, Licensing Suspension for Student Loan Forgiveness, NCSL (Oct. 1, 2018) http://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-

and-employment/license-suspension-for-student-loan-defaulters.aspx (last visited Nov. 26, 2019). 
12 Jessica Silver-Greenberg, Stacey Cowley, & Natalie Kitroeff, When Unpaid Student Loan Bills Mean You Can No Longer Work, 

The New York Times (Nov. 18, 2017) https://www.nytimes.com/2017/11/18/business/student-loans-licenses.html?_r=0 (last visited 

on Nov. 26, 2019). 
13 Id. 
14 Protecting JOBs Act, S.3065, 115th Congress (2017-2018); Protecting JOBs Act, H.R.6156 115th Congress (2017-2018); Protecting 

JOBs Act, S.609, 116th Congress (2019-2020). 

https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED323879.pdf
http://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-and-employment/license-suspension-for-student-loan-defaulters.aspx
http://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-and-employment/license-suspension-for-student-loan-defaulters.aspx
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/11/18/business/student-loans-licenses.html?_r=0
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health care practitioners in the nation who defaulted on their student loans, 556 of them being in 
Florida. Those loan defaults were costing taxpayers over $694 million, of which $45.6 million was 
attributable to Florida health care practitioners.15 
 
Section 456.072(1)(k), F.S., provides that DOH may discipline a health care practitioner for failing to 
perform any statutory or legal obligation placed upon a health care practitioner, which specifically 
includes failing to repay a government-backed student loan or comply with a service scholarship 
obligation. If DOH finds that a health care practitioner has defaulted on his or her student loans or failed 
to comply with a service scholarship, at a minimum, DOH must:  

 Suspend the practitioner’s license until he or she agrees to new loan repayment terms or 
resumes the scholarship obligation; 

 Place the practitioner on probation for the duration of the student loan or scholarship obligation 
period; and 

 Impose a fine equal to 10 percent of the defaulted loan amount. 
 

Every month, DOH must obtain a list from the United States Department of Health and Human Services 
(USHHS) through DOE as it relates to Florida licensed health care practitioners who have defaulted on 
government-backed student loans.16 Upon learning that a health care practitioner has defaulted on 
such a student loan, DOH must notify the practitioner that he or she has 45 days to provide DOH with 
proof of a new repayment plan, or such practitioner will be subject to an emergency order suspending 
the practitioner’s license. Also, DOH may proceed with additional disciplinary action against the 
practitioner, regardless if he or she provides proof of entering a new repayment plan.17 
 
During the 2017-2018 Fiscal Year, DOH handled 247 cases against health care practitioners for 
defaulting on student loans, and during the 2018-2019 Fiscal Year, DOH handled 722 cases.18  
 

Case Status 2017-18 FY 2018-19 FY 

Mediated 88 332 

Dismissed 27 75 

Discipline Imposed 23 36 

No Probable Cause Found 9 41 

Licensee is No Longer Licensed  54 55 

Licensee is Deceased 3 2 

Still Open 43 160 

Complaint Withdrawn by DOE 0 21 

Total 247 722 

 
Health Care Practitioner Licensing 
 
The Division of Medical Quality Assurance (MQA) within the DOH is responsible for the licensing and 
regulation of health care practitioners in the state. The MQA works in conjunction with 22 boards and 
four councils to license and regulate seven types of health care facilities and more than 200 license 
types in over 40 health care professions. Each profession is regulated by an individual practice act and 
by ch. 456, F.S., which provides general regulatory and licensure authority for the MQA. The MQA 
regulates the following profession categories:19  

 Acupuncturists; 

 Athletic Trainers; 

 Chiropractors; 

 Clinical Laboratory Personnel; 

                                                 
15 Ch. 2002-254, Laws of Fla. 
16 S. 456.0721, F.S. 
17 S. 456.074(4), F.S. 
18 Gary Landry, Office of Legislative Planning, Department of Health, Student Loan information as promised (Oct. 30, 2019). 
19 S. 456.001(4), F.S; Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Annual Report and Long-Range Plan, 

Fiscal Year 2018-2019, 7,  http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/reports-and-publications/_documents/annual-report-

1819.pdf (last visited on Nov. 26, 2019). 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/reports-and-publications/_documents/annual-report-1819.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/reports-and-publications/_documents/annual-report-1819.pdf
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 Clinical Social Workers, Marriage and Family Counselors, and Mental Health Counselors; 

 Dentists; 

 Hearing Aid Specialists; 

 Massage Therapists; 

 Medical Doctors; 

 Nurses; 

 Nursing Home Administrators; 

 Occupational Therapists; 

 Opticians; 

 Optometrists; 

 Orthotists and Prosthetists; 

 Osteopathic Doctors; 

 Pharmacists; 

 Physical Therapists; 

 Podiatrists; 

 Psychologists; 

 Respiratory Care Practitioners; 

 Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists; 

 Dietetics and Nutrition Practitioners; 

 Electrologists; 

 Licensed Midwifes; 

 Physician Assistants; 

 Certified Master Social Workers; 

 Emergency Medical Technicians; 

 Medical Physicists; 

 Paramedics; 

 Radiologic Technicians; and 

 School Psychologists. 
 

Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
 
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), through several divisions, regulates 
and licenses various businesses and professionals in Florida. DBPR has authority over licensees under 
the following professional boards and programs: 

 Board of Architecture and Interior Design; 

 Board of Auctioneers; 

 Barbers’ Board; 

 Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board; 

 Construction Industry Licensing Board; 

 Board of Cosmetology; 

 Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board; 

 Board of Employee Leasing Companies; 

 Board of Landscape Architecture; 

 Board of Pilot Commissioners; 

 Board of Professional Geologists; 

 Board of Veterinary Medicine; 

 Home inspection services licensing program; 

 Mold-related services licensing program; 

 Florida Board of Professional Engineers; 

 Board of Accountancy; 

 Florida Real Estate Commission; and 

 Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board.20 
 

                                                 
20 S. 20.165, F.S. 
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DBPR licenses and regulates each of the above professions in accordance with that profession’s 
practice act, and ch. 455, F.S., which provides general regulatory and licensure authority for DBPR. 
 
Section 455.227, F.S., provides that DBPR may discipline a licensee for failing to perform any statutory 
or legal obligation placed upon a licensee. However, 455.227, F.S., does not specifically state that 
DBPR may discipline a licensee for defaulting on a student loan. According to DBPR, they have never 
disciplined a licensee for defaulting on a student loan.21  
 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services  
 
In addition to regulating agriculture in Florida, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
(DACS) protects consumers from unfair and deceptive business practices and provides consumer 
information.22 DACS achieves this, in part, through licensing and registering various professionals, 
including: 

 Professional Surveyors and Mappers; 

 Private Investigative, Private Security, and Repossession Services; 

 Health Studios; 

 Telemarketing Services; 

 Intrastate Movers and Brokers; 

 Sellers of Liquefied Petroleum Gas; 

 Pawnbrokers; 

 Motor Vehicle Repair Shops; and 

 Sellers of Travel.  
 
DACS licenses and regulates each of the above professionals in accordance with that profession’s 
practice act. According to DACS, they do not have authority to discipline a licensee for defaulting on 
student loans.23  

 
Department of Financial Services 

 
The Department of Financial Services (DFS) is the state agency responsible for regulation and 
licensure of professions related to insurance, fire safety, and funeral and cemetery services.24 
 
According to DFS, they do not consider the status of student loans when issuing or regulating licenses, 
and do not believe they have statutory authority to deny or discipline a license for defaulting on a 
government issued student loan.25  

 
Effect of the Bill 
 
The bill provides definitions for the following terms as they relate to a broad prohibition on licensing 
discipline for student loans defaults: 

 “Default” means the failure to repay a student loan according to the terms agreed to in the 
promissory note. 

 “Delinquency” means the failure to make a student loan payment when it is due. 

 “License” means any professional license, certificate, registration, or permit granted by the 
applicable state authority. 

 “State authority” means any department, board, or agency with the authority to grant a license 
to any person in this state. 

 “Student loan” means a federal-guaranteed or state-guaranteed loan for the purposes of 
postsecondary education. 

                                                 
21 Colton Madill, Office of Legislative Affairs, Department of Business and Professional Regulation, RE: HB 115 (Oct. 30, 2019). 
22 S. 20.14(2), F.S. 
23 Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Agency Analysis of 2020 House Bill 115, p. 2 (Sept. 9, 2019). 
24 Chs. 497, 626, 633, and 648, F.S. 
25 Email from Greg Thomas, Director of Insurance Agent & Agency Services, Department of Financial Services, Student Loan Default 

and DFS Agent and Agency Licensing, (Mar. 18, 2019). 
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The bill prohibits any state authority from denying the issuance of, suspending, or revoking a license 
that it issued to a person who is in default on or delinquent in the payment of his or her student loans 
based solely on such default or delinquency. The bill requires DOE to comply with this provision when 
making an effort to collect on student loans. 

 
The bill related to health care practitioners:  

 Specifically states that failing to repay a government-backed student loan is not a basis for DOH 
finding that a health care practitioner has committed a punishable offense by failing to perform a 
statutory or legal obligation placed on the licensee; 

 Removes the specific provision allowing DOH to discipline a health care practitioner for failing to 
comply with a scholarship obligation and the associated mandatory disciplinary action;  

 Repeals the requirement that DOH must issue an emergency order suspending a health care 
practitioner’s license for a student loan default absent timely proof of a new repayment plan; and  

 Repeals the requirement that DOH must obtain a monthly list from the USHHS of the Florida 
health care practitioners who have defaulted on their student loans.  

 
The bill provides an effective date of July 1, 2020. 
 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1 Creates s. 120.82, F.S., prohibiting a state authority from disciplining a professional 
license in certain situations. 

 
Section 2 Amends s. 456.072, F.S., prohibiting DOH from disciplining a health care practitioner’s 

license in certain situations. 
 
Section 3 Repeals s. 456.0721, F.S., relating to an obligation to receive a report of practitioners in 

default of student loans. 
 
Section 4 Amends s. 456.074, F.S., relating to DOH’s ability to immediately suspend a health care 

practitioner’s license in certain situations. 
 
Section 5 Amends s. 1009.95, F.S., requiring DOE to comply s. 120.82, F.S. 
 
Section 6 Provides an effective date of July 1, 2020. 
 
 
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

See Fiscal Comments. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

See Fiscal Comments. 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

None. 
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2. Expenditures: 

None. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

Health care practitioners will no longer be subject to suspension, revocation, or emergency suspension 
orders solely for defaulting on their student loans, which may allow them to obtain gainful employment.  
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

According to DOH, they will experience a recurring decrease in revenue due to the loss of the 
mandated 10% fine imposed on student loan default cases. However, DOH will experience a recurring 
reduction in workload and cost due to fewer investigations and prosecutions. Additionally, the 
Compliance Management Unit will no longer have to track licensees on probation due to discipline 
imposed by a board.26  

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

None. 
 

 2. Other: 

None. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

None. 
 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None. 
 
 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 

 
On November 6, 2019, the Business & Professions Subcommittee adopted a strike-all amendment and 
reported the bill favorably as a committee substitute. The amendment: 

 Moves a provision in the bill to the Administrative Procedure Act; 

 Clarifies the general purpose contained in the bill; and  

 Conforms a cross-reference. 
 
On December 11, 2019, the Health Quality Subcommittee adopted an amendment and reported the bill 
favorably as a committee substitute. The amendment prohibits a state authority from denying an individual a 
professional license based solely upon the individual being delinquent or defaulting on their student loan. 
 

 
This analysis is drafted to the committee substitute as passed by the Health Quality Subcommittee. 

 

                                                 
26 Department of Health, Agency Analysis of 2020 House Bill 115, p. 4 (Oct. 11, 2019). 


